IRIS - Smart Cities

IRIS Smart Cities logotype

IRIS is a five-year EU project starting 1 October 2017. Within IRIS, we will find and test new solutions for urban development within energy, mobility and ICT. In total, 43 players from 9 countries collaborate. Johanneberg Science Park coordinates the project on behalf of the City of Gothenburg.



Urban environments strive harder and harder to become cleaner and more pleasant where the resources available are respected and used more efficiently. IRIS will focus on energy-positive areas, smart energy management and a smart e-mobility sector, an innovation platform for digital cities, residents involvement and co-creation.

IRIS is a Lighthouse project which consists of three European cities: Utrecht (Netherlands, project manager) and Nice (France) and we, Gothenburg, Sweden. In addition, four follow-up cities participate: Vaasa (FI) Alexandroupolis (GR) Santa Cruz de Tenerife (ES) and Focsani (RO).

Lighthouse cities have come a long way in sustainable commercial solutions in energy, mobility and ICT. The idea is that the follow-up cities will learn and be able to replicate the solutions.

The work in the IRIS project is organized around 16 solutions, grouped in five different Transition Tracks: 

  1. Smart Renewables and closed-loop energy positive districts
  2. Smart Energy Management and Storage for Grid Flexibility
  3. Smart e-Mobility Sector
  4. City Innovation Platform (CIP)
  5. Citizen Engagement and Co-creation

In Gothenburg we are nine project partners:

The City of Gothenburg
Johanneberg Science Park
Akademiska Hus
In addition, two partners participate in an overall level throughout the project: RISE and IMCG.

In Johanneberg Science Park we are a few people working with IRIS:

  • Eva Pavic – Site Manager Gothenburg
  • Björn Westling – WP Leader/Deputy Site Manager Gothenburg
  • Karin Weijdegård – Communication

Here are all the IRIS project partners!
Read more: 

IRIS Map of Europe

5 Transition Tracks of IRIS

Co-funded by the Horizon 2020 Framework Programme of the European Union. Read more:

EU SCC logo       IRIS logo

Eva Edman Pavic
Project Coordinator

Eva Edman Pavic

Björn Westling
Director of SME Relations

Björn Westling

Karin Weijdegård
Communications Officer

Karin Weijdegård